How does your Nitrosamine Team operates?

I hope our community can help answer this very interesting question coming from one of our members (@Ghada.Saad) , and especially important for Small and medium organizations.

I am working in a pharmaceutical company in Egypt. I would like to know more about how nitrosamine issues are handled in small and medium sized pharmaceutical companies. Is it through multidisciplinary committees?? Are there dedicated teams?? Which department is the leader?? What are the most important reaources?? It would help me a lot to speed up implementing nitrosamine risk assessment in my company

@AndyTeasdale Can you help us? Thx!

@Ghada.Saad

Thanks for raising an interesting question. As a GMP inspector, I would prefer to see more of a holistic approach regardless of the size of the organization. It is like implementing quality risk management principles in your organization that cannot be adequately implemented without a cross-functional team. The personnel having an in-depth understanding of the manufacturing process of DS/DP (from product development, production and packaging), analytical challenges by quality control including validation team, current regulatory requirements (usually best known by QA), technology transfer including regulatory affairs personnel should form a core of the cross-functional team. In addition, you may invite other subject matter experts on a case by case basis. Based on my inspection experience since the issue of nitrosamine has surfaced up (June 2018), usually, the discussion is led by the QA and supported by other departments. Having said that, there is no right or wrong, if you wish another department (s) to lead the discussion. It is important to note that risk assessments should be performed on the manufacturing site(s) and marketing authorization holder(s) (MAHs) should have appropriate oversight as ultimately they are responsible for the quality and safety of the DS/DP.