Lactose, Nitrosamine Risk?

I recently came across this report from a Lactose manufacturer "Conclusion: Neither the chemical composition nor the processing conditions indicate any possibility for nitrosamine contamination and formation in the process or storage of the MEGGLE product"

I’m curious what has been the experience for our members working with excipient manufacturers. Is that enough for your risk assessment? Are you getting any pushback from Regulatory bodies?

Lactose Monohydrate USA, Nitrosamines.pdf (314.2 KB)

We have had similar responses from a number of manufacturers. Unfortunately it does not address the possibility of nitrite which is the bigger question in most cases.

1 Like

@Naiffer_Host @GENERAPHARM
It’s a good example. Though I have no experience of getting any pushback from Regulatory, I think it’s enough for risk assessment because it includes all of necessary information on the latest IPEC questionnaire. For API without nitrosable amine structures, it does not cause nitrosamine contamination risk in general. For API with nitrosable amine structures, I’m not sure which is better for the amount of nitrosating agents in this excipient, 0.39 ppm, 0 ppm or 3 ppm, however I think 0 ppm can be assigned because it is natural origin and without nitrogen, excipient with the lowest risk of nitrosating agents contamination. What do you think?

Lactose almost certainly contains nitrate/nitrite so zero is just undefendable

1 Like

@Yosukemino @GENERAPHARM I am really curious how organizations are striking for that balance, excipients manufacturing - DP manufacturers.
From the recent Inudstry-FDA nitrosamine meeting, FDA was quite clear in their response:

“Drug product manufacturers need to verify that the excipients used in their process and in conjunction with other ingredients, including the active ingredient and any processing aids, do not lead to the formation of objectionable nitrosamine levels.”

2 Likes