N-nitroso Torasemide Impurity formation and control

Dear Respected members,

During my review and assessment of Torasemide API , i have found * N nitroso Torasemide* as shown in the figure Structure of N-nitroso impurity

however in the drug master file, the manufacturing process did not reveal any tendency for its formation

I just need to confirm if there’s a raising worry about its formation to finalize my risk assessment?.

I doubt that can be formed by oxidation- Phase one metabolism, but i am not quite sure.

Waiting for your valuable discussions!.

My regards,

Hi!
In my experience… they will always ask you for batch analysis to verify with “facts”. Then you can apply 10% or 30% of the specification if you are below this limit.
Any theoretical justification is welcome but insufficient by regulatory agencies.
I have no experience as to whether the nitrosation process is favored , but if it is a low-dose medication, the daily limit of nitrosamine will go up quite a bit.
Cheer up. :slight_smile:

1 Like

So, there’s a lot to discuss here.

1. NDSRIs are rarely formed during the API manufacturing process. This is normally formed in the drug product on stability.

2. I would advise specific evaluation of every secondary and dimethyl tertiary amine, which you are doing. The first real step of this in the lab should be confirming that the nitrosamine can be formed. If you find an FDA limit and a standard from a reputable source, one can presume that it can be formed. Neither are the case here. Additionally, this paper ( Risk assessment for nitrosated pharmaceuticals: A future perspective in drug development - Schmidtsdorff - 2022 - Archiv der Pharmazie - Wiley Online Library) shows another lab that has tried to form the resulting nitrosamine without success. This work can be done in the lab or in-silico.

3. If and only if you prove that the nitrosamine can be formed will you proceed to confirmatory testing of old stability/retain samples.

4 Likes